Centennial ARC Grant Winners Have Been Announced

ARC Grant winning theses (© State Dept.)

The ARC Grant jury, consisting of Counselor for Press and Cultural Affairs T.J. Grubisha, U.S. Embassy; Executive Director Terhi Mölsä from the Fulbright Center; and Assistant Public Affairs Officer Jeanie Duwan, U.S. Embassy, unanimously decided to choose two  winners of the ARC Grant 2016.

To celebrate Finland’s 100th birthday, two ARC Grant recipients were selected  and both were awarded with 1,000€ grant:  Ms. Helmi-Riikka Olkinuora and Ms. Anni Öberg, both students at the University of Helsinki. Their Master’s Theses are titled – respectively -“The Changing Role of the Teacher in 21st Century Education: A Case Study on Teacher Interventions in a FUSE Studio Makerspace”, and “Bannack Ghost Town: A Colorless Reflection of America’s Western Past.”

In addition, a special Finland Centennial Mention Award went to Sara Saramäki, a student at the University of Helsinki, for her Master’s Thesis “American Parties’ Policies towards Europe in the Post-Cold War Era – A Comparative Analysis of the Democratic and Republican Party Platforms.”

Altogether the American Resource Center received 26 applications from Finnish university students around the country. More information about the grant is available at the American Resource Center page.